Later, the opening up of the mining areas in the north of the Province and the accompanying lawlessness brought to the fore the realization that more adequate law-enforcement measures were a necessity. Consequently, an Order in Council dated Oct. 13, 1909 (confirmed by 10 Edw. VII, c. 39, 1910) was passed providing for the establishment of the "Ontario Provincial Police Force", to be composed of a Superintendent and such inspectors and constables as were deemed necessary. The officers were stationed throughout the northern portion of the Province and at all border points in southern Ontario. The Force was completely reorganized; in 1921, under the authority of the Ontario Provincial Police Act, the appointment of a Commissioner of Police for Ontario was made and the strength of the Force considerably increased.

The Constables Act was amended in 1929 with a view to establishing closer relationship and co-operation between the Provincial Police Force and County Constabularies. Twenty-eight counties took advantage of this legislation and a member of the Ontario Provincial Police was appointed as Acting High Constable in each of these counties. In 1929 also, an Ontario Provincial Police Training School was established at General Headquarters for the tuition and guidance of recruits.

In March, 1930, the control and administration of the officers who had been enforcing the Highway Traffic Act under the supervision of the Department of Public Highways was transferred to the Department of the Attorney-General under the Commissioner of the Ontario Provincial Police. A combined Provincial and Municipal Police Training School was inaugurated at Toronto in March, 1935. This school provides advanced training in medical, legal, scientific and technical activities for provincial and municipal police officers.

In the foreboding days of August, 1939, when war appeared inevitable, the Ontario Government organized "The Veterans' Guard of the Ontario Provincial Police" with a maximum strength of 750. The duties of this guard, under the direct supervision of the Ontario Provincial Police, were to guard all Ontario Hydro Power Commission hydraulic plants and dams throughout the Province. It is a point worthy of note that during the entire period of international conflict not one case of sabotage was reported.

By the Police Act, 1946, proclaimed Feb. 1, 1947, all former legislation and amendments dealing with constables were repealed. Under this Act, the duties and responsibilities of police forces are, for the first time in the history of the Province, definitely defined. Up to Mar. 31, 1947, 34 municipalities have availed themselves of the provisions of the Police Act, for the policing of their municipalities by the Ontario Provincial Police.

At present the Force, with a strength of approximately 650, consists of a General Headquarters at Toronto and 14 Districts with headquarters at: Chatham, London, Dundas, Niagara Falls, Aurora, Mount Forest, Barrie, Belleville, Perth, Haileybury, Sudbury, Cochrane, Port Arthur, and Kenora. Each district is divided into detachments to adequately meet law-enforcement requirements. A Criminal Investigation Branch of the Force, under the command of a Chief Inspector, is maintained at Toronto. This Branch investigates crimes of a major nature. At the present time, a frequency modulation radio-communication system is being installed to assist the Force in coping with the ever-increasing demands of law enforcement.